Chevron RightCredit CardFacebookGoogle PlusInfoInstagramLinkedInLockPhonesearchTwitter

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for setting the strategic direction, establishing goals for management and monitoring their achievement and monitoring the performance of the business. 

Sue O'Connor

BAppSc (RMIT), GDipBus Mgt (Monash), FAICD

Sue O'ConnorSue became a Director and Chair of Yarra Valley Water on 1 October 2015. She has been a Non-Executive Director/Chair for over ten years.

Sue is a Director of Mercer Superannuation, Transport Accident Commission, State Trustees Victoria and Climate Works Australia, and an Advisory Committee Member of the Monash Sustainable Development Institute. She was previously Chair of YMCA Victoria and a Director and Deputy Chair of Goulburn Valley Water (2008 – 2015).

Sue brings to the board table over 25 years of senior leadership experience of successfully growing and transforming customer focused, technology dependent businesses operating in disrupted markets.  This included 13 years at Telstra Corporation where she successfully led the establishment of a number of new businesses and completion of major cross-company transformation programs.

Rob Skinner
Deputy Chair

BE (Hons), MSc (Birm), FIEAust, MAICD

Rob SkinnerRob Skinner became a Director on 1 October 2015 and was appointed as Deputy Chair of Yarra Valley Water on 16 December 2016.

He is a Professorial Fellow and Director at Monash University’s Water for Liveability Centre, Chair of WaterAid Australia and WaterAid International, Deputy Chair of the Co-operative Research Centre for Water Sensitive Cities and Board member of the International Centre of Excellence for Water Resources Management.  He is a Distinguished Fellow of the International Water Association (IWA) and Chair of the IWA’s Cities of the Future Program.

Rob was Managing Director at Melbourne Water from 2005 to 2011, and Chief Executive Officer of the City of Kingston from 1996 to 2015.  He was appointed to the Australian Water Partnership Committee in October 2015.

Over the past 20 years, Rob has been on a number of boards and involved in numerous advisory panels and reviews related to water policy and strategy in Victoria and elsewhere. 

Gregory Camm


Gregory CammGreg became a Director of Yarra Valley Water on 1 October 2013.

Greg is a Director of Mecu Ltd, trading as Bank Australia (2011 – current) and Bottlecyclers Pty Ltd (2010 – current), and a Trustee/Director of the Australian Cancer Research Foundation. He retired from his role as Chief Executive Officer of of Superpartners Ltd in 2012 and was previously the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of AMP Financial Services (new Zealand Banking Group (1989 – 2005).    He held a number of positions with Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (1989 – 2005) including Managing Director, Australian Retail Banking (2004 – 2005).

Greg brings to the Board financial and business acumen.

Susan Friend


Susan FriendSue became a Director of Yarra Valley Water on 1 October 2010.

Sue is a Board Member of Melbourne Market Authority and an Independent Audit Committee Member of the Municipal Association of Victoria, and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee of the County Court of Victoria. She is currently a consultant with Sapere Research Group, a global expert services firm. 

Sue brings a background in audit, internal audit and forensic accounting gained from 15 years working with PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Victor Perton

BEc, LLB, LLM, Dip Chinese Law, GAICD

Victor PertonVictor Perton became a Director of Yarra Valley Water on 1 October 2015. 

Victor has had experience on significant public sector boards, including the Transport Accident Commission, the Federal Government’s Council on Australia Latin American Relations, the Global Integrity Summit and the Australian Centre for Financial Studies.

He has chaired public sector inquiries and committees on technology, justice, equal opportunity, regulatory efficiency, subordinate legislation and several other topics.   His current private sector work includes advice on board governance, leadership, assessment and search.  Victor is a member of the Advisory Committee of the Global Integrity Summit.

Victor brings 18 years’ experience as a Parliamentarian, practice as a barrister, mediator, arbitrator, businessman, private sector board service and mentor.

He is a former Commissioner to the Americas building investment, global supply chains and expatriate and alumni networks.  His work there included promotion of Victoria's water expertise to enhance government to government relations and to support Victorian exporters.

Anita Roper

BBus (Mgt), GAICD

Anita RoperAnita Roper became a Director of Yarra Valley Water on 1 October 2015. 

Anita is currently a Board Member of the Fitzroy Football Club and the Victorian Public Sector Commission Advisory Board.  She was previously a non-executive director of Pacific Hydro, including Chair of the Board’s Health, Safety, Sustainability and People Committee, member of AngloGold Ashanti’s Global Panel on Sustainability and Board Member of the Women’s Network for a Sustainable Future and a member of the Board of Inquiry into the Hazelwood Coal Mine Fire.

Anita has over 30 years’ experience in senior management roles working with business, government, communities and multilateral agencies in Australia, Canada, UK and the USA.  Her executive career spans the private and public sectors, including Chief Executive Officer at Sustainability Victoria and Global Director of Sustainability with Alcoa in New York.

Eric Sjerp

BSc (Geol. Geog.), MEIANZ, MAICD

Eric SjerpEric became a Director of Yarra Valley Water on 1 October 2015.

Eric was a Director at East Gippsland Water from 2003 to 2015.  He is an Environmental Scientist with extensive professional experience throughout Australia amd Malaysia and is currently Managing Director and Principal Consultant of Ethos NRM,    He is a past Executive Officer of the Gippsland Lakes Management Council.

Eric brings to the Board considerable experience having been involved in numerous other Boards, including Southern Rural Water, East Gippsland Environmental Sustainability Advisory Board, East Gippsland Catchment Management Authority Lands Advisory Committee and East Gippsland TAFE Industry Advisory Committee.

Helen Thornton


Helen ThorntonHelen Thornton became a Director of Yarra Valley Water on 1 October 2015.

Helen is Deputy Chair of the Treasury Corporation of Victoria. She was the Vice President Risk Management at BlueScope Steel and has extensive experience as a Risk and Compliance Executive in the manufacturing industry, as well as significant audit experience in professional service teams.  She was previously on the Boards of Big Sky Building Society and Rural Finance Corporation.

Helen has significant expertise in risk management and auditing, being involved on a number of Boards, including the Independent Member of Risk and Audit Committees for the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning and Department of Health and Human Services, a Board Member of Legal Practitioners Liability Committee, and is the Deputy Chair of Zoos Victoria Board.

Pat McCafferty
Managing Director   


Pat McCaffertyPat McCafferty was appointed Managing Director of Yarra Valley Water on 1 July 2014.

Pat is an Executive Council Member of the Institute of Water Administration and Deputy Chair of the Water Services Association of Australia.

Pat has extensive experience across the water sector and has held General Manager roles at Yarra Valley Water since 2001, covering a wide range of strategic and operational leadership positions, including planning, economic regulation, finance, marketing and customer operations.